1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

1991 S10 Blazer 4.3L speedo not working and stalls when warm

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 06:14 PM
Beginning Member
mattkc is on a distinguished road
Default 1991 S10 Blazer 4.3L speedo not working and stalls when warm

Hey everyone, my blazer has recently decided to start going haywire on me and i would like to fix the problems myself. I had a leak in the water pump and just finished replacing it, although the temp gauge did not show engine overheating. However, now the speedometer and odometer are not working, Also, the car runs well when first started, however, after about 10 mins of driving, while at a stop or coming to a stop i notice the oil gauge drops and the car stalls out, it does restart right away. Also, when making sharp left turns the engine cuts out momentarily sometimes causing the car to stall. Please help. I am a noob at this so i will do my best with the lingo.

1991 S10 Blazer
4x4
4.3L
135000 miles

i've changed the water pump and the distributor within the last year.
thanks for all your help...

Old 04-14-2011, 08:17 PM
ohsofly will become famous soon enoughohsofly will become famous soon enough

You are probably looking at a fuel problem seeing as you didnt mention any trouble lights common with electrical faults.

The speedo is a cable that runs from the gauge cluster to the transmission output end. Try having a look to see it its come off the transmission side or something. Its a tube cable with a thing that spins in the center of it, the whole legnth of it. They do break.

Old 04-17-2011, 08:56 PM
Beginning Member
Default thanks ohsofly

Thanks ohsofly, i'm currently working on cleaning the iac valve to see if this helps with the stalling. is there anyway to check the map sensor to see if its faulty or needs to be changed?

Old 04-17-2011, 11:11 PM
BF Veteran