1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

94 bravada died wont restart has real strong gas smell

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 01:46 AM
chazsblackbravada is on a distinguished road
Unhappy 94 bravada died wont restart has real strong gas smell

ok everyone i am a noob to these but i love mine heres the problem was driving home started to loose power slowed down and looked in my mirrors seen smoke "white smoke" from tail pipe went to pull over and it died had a real strong gas odor and when i walked to the back to look at the tip i noticed a little puddle on the ground that smelled like gas please help i want my baby back on the road

***edit*** but after sitting for about thirty minutes it will try and turn over but still reaks of gas

Old 06-22-2010, 10:15 AM
ohsofly will become famous soon enoughohsofly will become famous soon enough

You most likely have an internal fuel leak so stop trying to start it or you risk washing the berrings with gasoline. Its fixable by yourself with basic hand tools. Most of us with these old trucks have already done this repair. Its not that bad to do, will take you about 3 hours having never done it before after 3 hours of studying threads on this forum.

What you really want to do it test the pressure. There is a test port behind the motor, where the fuel lines enter from the back. You can see the little shrader valve, it may have a cap on it like a tire stem has. The test gauge goes on there.

I doubt that is gas coming out the tailpipe, for gas to come out there you would have to fill up the muffler with gasoline first. Its just water, but smells like gas from the leak. An internal fuel leak will leak down into the crankcase and mix with the oil - making it overfull.

Buy a test guage, or borrow one (if you are in south edmonton, you can use mine), thread it on and do this test: