1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

ABS Problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2008, 02:43 PM
FoxTrota is an unknown quantity at this point
Default ABS Problem

I recently decided to try and fix my ABS because on several occasions when it was a little wet out i almost lost control when i tried to stop. My friend who is a mechanic told me he could help me fix it fro $100 plus the cost of parts. My other mechanic told me it would cost alot over $2,000.

I was told the sensors often got dirty so i got brake cleaner and cleaned each wheel sensor then all of the wires and connections. Yet, the ABS and brake light still come back on. The light took longer to go on after i started it up which leads me to believe maybe cleaning it worked but one of the sensors could be out? I don't know I'm not a mechanic lol. Should i take the wheels apart completely and remove the rotor, and all of the components? I only sprayed around the opening near the sensor so i don't know if its completely clean.

Where could i acquire an ABS wheel sensor if i need one?, and how much would it cost? I searched around and couldn't find anywhere to buy new sensors. Any other comments, suggestion or information is appreciated

* and for some reason its doubling the '

Old 10-01-2008, 04:28 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: ABS Problem