1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Another EGR POST

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2008, 10:36 PM
bambino is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Another EGR POST

I have been reading every message regarding an egr problem for the last 24-48 hours and I still cannot find what I'm looking for.
Hope someone here can help out.....
I have an 89 S-10 V-6 4.3
I have all the symptoms of a bad egr but, I'm not sure where it's located on the truck!
I'm really new at wrenching so picture would be really great. I kinda think it might be behind the carb? Looks like a horitontal black saucer shaped thing?
I really kust want to take it apart and clean it out. I bought a can of mass air flow sensor cleaner is this ok to use?
I also got a new O2 sensor but after 5 hours of fighting with the old one I gave up trting to replace it.....
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advnace!

Old 10-07-2008, 01:06 AM
Campesino is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Another EGR POST

The saucer shaped thing is the EGR. On mine there are just 2 bolts holding it on there and then the vacuum line that controls it, probably the same on yours. If it's the egr's first time to be taken off it'll probably break the gasket, so be sure to scrape off the bits of old one and get a replacement on there. I used carb/throttle body cleaner on mine, but the MAF cleaner should be alright. Just do your best not to get any of it on the diaphram portion of it.

What kind of symptoms are you getting? Is the engine surging or pinging?

Old 10-07-2008, 07:56 AM
Beginning Member
ddog800 is an unknown quantity at this point

Its going to look like the picture here:

http://www.autozone.com/R,1927071/ve...ductDetail.htm