1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Blazer dies while running

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2010, 04:46 PM
Starting Member
D4Jonathan is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Blazer dies while running

The vehicle in question is a 1989 S10 Blazer, 2WD, 4.3L.

One day, I started my Blazer, shifted into reverse, and it died. Shifted back into park, started it, and it died before I could do anything.

I'm a college student, not a big car guy, but have some friends who are, so they've been helping me.

We've cleaned out the throttle body injector (which was filthy), thinking maybe the gas was getting too dirty, and changed fuel filters. When I had the fuel filter off, I turned the key in the ignition and made certain gas was pumping out of the line, and I couldn't hear the fuel pump making any noise, so I THINK the fuel pump is working.

So, then the engine started, and ran, and it felt somewhat cleaner and better. So I thought it was fixed.

So I tried to go to Wal-Mart in it today, get maybe 3/4 of a mile, and then the engine dies. I coast into a parking lot, and try to start it. Nothing, it won't even crank. A minute later it cranks and starts, then dies. The starter would sometimes crank, sometimes not, and start it occasionally.

I'm really not certain what the problem is, and my friends are getting unsure too. I'm not sure what the problem is, can anyone with more expertise please help me?

Old 04-20-2010, 05:52 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute