1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Fuel pump buzzing

Old 02-02-2010, 01:32 AM
Beginning Member
ejxjohnson is on a distinguished road
Default Fuel pump buzzing

Hey guys! Im a newbie to this site and i just recently bought a 93 s-10 blazer with 123k miles on it. Did a tune up on it(replace plugs and wires, dist cap and rotor, ignition coil, air filter, and belt) and also cleaned the egr valve and placed a screened gasket on it.

The problem im having now is there is a buzzing sound comming from the fuel pump at all times that the truck is running. It runs and drives smooth now(was idleing rough when at a stop before i did the tune up) and has sufficent power when i punch down on the pedal so i dont think the fuel pump is bad......yet.

The PO did a hack job on some of the wiring that i think is comming from the fuel pump rely. I need to find the wiring diagram for the fuel pump relay and redo the wiring. Could the reley be sending a constant signal to the pump telling it to start up? The buzzing sound is the sound that u hear when the fuel pump turns on, but insted of lasting for 6 or so seconds its always on. ANy ideas on this will be welcome!

Old 02-02-2010, 01:49 AM
Gimpy Blazer is on a distinguished road

Your fuel pump runs at all times the engine is running. The relay only works on start-up, Then the power to the pump is supplied through the oil pressure sender when the relay de-energizes.

Old 02-02-2010, 12:39 PM
Beginning Member

yes i know.......when you stat your truck or just turn the key partway the relay sends a signal to the pump. you normally hear the buzzing sound for 4 or 5 seconds and then it stops, BUT mine continues to buzz like that until i take the key out.

Old 02-04-2010, 01:52 AM