1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Idle

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2008, 04:17 PM
bambino is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Idle

I have an 89 V-6 Z Vin.

The idle while in drive is sloppy. It wants to stall and sometimes does but usually, I can feel or hear the engine correct whatever is wrong.

I have replaced vacum lines.
Cleaned EGR.
New Plugs/Wires.
Oil Change.
Replaced O2 Sensor.
Replaced Fuel Filter/PCV Valve.
Sea Foamed it.

I think it's firing on all cylinders. It seems like something in the fuel system. I have never changed a pump before and I'm not sure
I even have to now. I can hear the pump so, it shouldn't be that right?
Anything else I should look into. I'm not a mechanic by any means. What is this spyder thing I keep reading about?
It stinks because the truck starts right up and runs ok but at traffic lights it wants to stall on me.
Also, sometimes when I park it stalls or comes really close and the window dosen't want to go up? It seems like the truck is possesed by some kind of power demon that only messes with me after I feel that the truck is running better.
Is GM playing some kind of horrible joke on me or something?
Should I just light this thing on fire to please the Blazer Gods or is there something simple and inepensive (a paradox) that I'm overlooking?
Thanks for any help/suggestions!
May you all find peace with your Blazers!

Old 11-18-2008, 04:19 PM
Leeann_Bravada is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Idle

You have a Vin Z so your engine doesn't have a spider.

You say you replaced the plugs & wires, but did you check the cap & rotor?

Old 11-19-2008, 09:49 AM

Ok no spyder.

Yes I checked cap and rotor. No depostis or anything. Sanded down the contacts a bit anyway.
I'm pretty sure it's a fuel problem and not a spark thing though....

Old 11-19-2008, 11:35 AM
mr.vls will become famous soon enough