Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > General Tech Help > 1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Blazer Forum!
Welcome to Blazer Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Blazer Forum today!


Closed Thread
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-14-2009, 11:36 PM
muszyngr's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 39
muszyngr is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Replace Throttle Position Sensor TPS In Carburetor

How hard is it to replace the Throttle Position Sensor on a Rochester E2SE carburetor V6 2.8L the piece of **** Haynes manual show's kinda how the guy pulls it out when he is rebuilding the carb, but does that mean I have to take the carb apart, and I can't do it on the car while just removing 2 bolts or so to pop it out

my check engine light flashes code 21 which is the TPS
__________________
1985 S10 Blazer 4X4 5spd V6 2.8L

http://home.comcast.net/~gregski/blazer.htm
  #2  
Old 05-15-2009, 10:46 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 36,947
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

You are going to have to remove the upper air horn to get the TPS sensor out. Are you sure that it is bad? Have you tested it with a multimeter for smooth voltage increase with throttle increase? You should not have over 0.65V at idle. 0.45V is the general area for the reading when on the hot idle cam. I am not sure how to adjust this though.. I rebuilt the E2SE on my old 85 S10 a LONG time ago, but never had an issue with the TPS.

Check out THIS PAGE for the exploded view.
  #3  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:54 AM
muszyngr's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 39
muszyngr is an unknown quantity at this point
Default it's better to be lucky than good

I think it was just a loose connection plug, I unplugged it all the way blew on it (like my dad used to do) then plugged it back in, this time I heard it click, I think problem solved... will confirm after the drive home from work
__________________
1985 S10 Blazer 4X4 5spd V6 2.8L

http://home.comcast.net/~gregski/blazer.htm
  #5  
Old 05-28-2009, 11:12 AM
muszyngr's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 39
muszyngr is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Shoot the Check Engine Light is back

on the way home from work the light came back on, so I took the negative cable off the battery for the night trying to clear the codes, and this morning after reconnecting the battery the Check Engine Light CEL came on as soon as I started the truck, so I don't think it was a loose connection. So how do I check the voltage of the Throttle Position Sensor TPS.

I spell things out so when people do searches they can find these posts, CEL, TPS, etc. and maybe find them helpful and meaningful.
__________________
1985 S10 Blazer 4X4 5spd V6 2.8L

http://home.comcast.net/~gregski/blazer.htm
  #6  
Old 05-28-2009, 02:02 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 36,947
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

I am not sure what the values are supposed to be for the TPS in the E2SE carb...
Old 05-28-2009, 02:02 PM
 
 
 
Closed Thread

Tags
2001, 85, 97, blazer, carburetor, chevy, e2se, parts, position, replacing, rochester, s10, sensor, throtle, throttle, tps


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.