1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Runs weird when cold and/or wet (especially with both..)

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2008, 07:50 PM
Blazers.B.Kewl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Runs weird when cold and/or wet (especially with both..)

So, this is my first year owning this 92 blazer. Now when it's really wet and cold, it doesn't like to start and when it does, it stalls a lot for the first 10 to 15 mins of driving. Now today, it started fine, but it idled kind of hard, and it was making putt putt putt noises from the tailpipe. This time it lasted about 20 mins. This is while it's stopped and parked. After that time though, it seems to run just dandy. Now my step-dad keeps telling me it's fine and it's just because it's old. and i shouldn't worry. I don't like how it idles and runs like this though. So i've come to the great minds of blazer forum for answers. Should i just live with this, or is there anything I can do (besides replacing the engine or something ridiculous) to make it idle better? Thanks
Kev

Old 12-07-2008, 08:08 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Runs weird when cold and/or wet (especially with both..)

When was the last time it had a complete tune-up (plugs, wires, distributor cap and rotor, fuel filter)?

Old 12-07-2008, 09:04 PM

i'm not sure. How much does that cost? Or can I do it myself?

Old 12-08-2008, 12:23 PM
blazinjeeps is an unknown quantity at this point