2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2002 S10 4WD V6 Heater Core

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2013, 08:51 PM
Starting Member
Psychotacon is on a distinguished road
Question 2002 S10 4WD V6 Heater Core

Hello everyone,

First time posting. This forum is awesome and I'm excited to be a part of the community as my new hobby of working on cars (specifically Blazers ) grows. Please forgive me as I am a complete noob to cars, and have done nothing more than change the oil and wiper blades myself. I've been building computers for over a decade and love taking things apart and putting them together, but cars are on a lever of complexity well beyond computers. It's also significantly more expensive to correct a mistake when working on one, so I definitely don't want to make one. So thank you in advance for any help.

What I'm dealing with currently, is what I believe to be a heater core in my Blazer that needs to be replaced. I've researched online and read what I could find on this forum, and I seem to be running into a few problems.

The symptoms I have currently, is just a fumy smell in the cabin. I wouldn't say it's a sweet smell (when I think sweet I think bakery with edible sweets, and it isn't that) but more of a general toxic smell. The heat works great, in fact it smells just fine coming from the vents. I live a few miles west of Chicago and the temperatures here are ranging from 15-40 degrees (fluctuating randomly from day to day) and the biggest issue right now is with the windows fogging up. The defroster doesn't seem to be malfunctioning, but there is a greasy like film on the inside of the windshield and it seems to be spreading to the other windows. It's almost impossible to clean; so far all that works is a spray bottle of RainX and some paper towels.