Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > General Tech Help > 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Blazer Forum!
Welcome to Blazer Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Blazer Forum today!


Closed Thread
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:36 PM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lethbridge Alberta Canada
Posts: 27
Paul-ish is on a distinguished road
Question 4X4 Wont work :(

Ok I have a new to me 1999 Blazer. I got it ultra cheap due to it having been in a mild front end hit.

Previouse owner told me the 4x4 wasnt working but he had someone look at it and figuerd it was just the swich. I replaced that today and no luck, no change.

Switch will light up for a milli second when the truck fires but thats it. Buttons are non- responsive and I belive it's stuck in 4hi. I'm thinkin maybe the 4x4 control module?? But I have no experiance with computer controled 4x4's.

Anyhelp will be muchly appreciated.
  #2  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:51 PM
warthogdriver's Avatar
BF Veteran
1999 Chevrolet Blazer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 2,785
warthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the rough
the arch
Default

did you check the vac actuator under the battery tray?
it may have been damaged in the accident?
__________________
99, 4X, 4 dr ZR2 FLARES...9 inch of lift....CHECK IT OUT!!

BUILD: OPERATION WARTHOG
XBOXLIVE TAG ALBUM PHOTOBUCKET
  #3  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:11 PM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lethbridge Alberta Canada
Posts: 27
Paul-ish is on a distinguished road
Default

Ahh so thats what that is... No it was not hit but i moved it when I pulled the rad support.
I'm thinkin it's probably electrical due to the switch not lighting when you press a button...But i'm probably wrong.
  #4  
Old 07-19-2011, 11:32 PM
xgiovannix12's Avatar
BF Guru
1992 Chevrolet S-10
My Garage
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Summit Ny
Posts: 5,959
xgiovannix12 will become famous soon enough
Default

here check this out see if this helps ya

http://blazerforum.com/forum/tech-ar...ill-help-7180/
__________________


My Build Thread , April 2012 Rotm ,Differential Electric Locking System DIY
>>>My thoughts and comments should be considered at ones own discretion <<<
Current Project: Still waiting for a spider.
  #5  
Old 07-20-2011, 07:12 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 36,870
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

The first thing I would do is check the TCCM for codes. See if it's trying to tell you whats wrong. The 4-button switch models (NV236) requires a full feature scan tool, but the 3-button switch models (NV233) can be done using a jumper wire at the DLC (process described in the Tech Article DIY section).

If there are no stored codes or you have successfully retrieved the codes, the next thing I would suggest is pulling the passenger side kick panel and having a look at the TCCM electrical connections. They like to corrode and cause all sorts of weird problems.
  #6  
Old 07-20-2011, 08:02 AM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lethbridge Alberta Canada
Posts: 27
Paul-ish is on a distinguished road
Default

It's the 4 button model...So do I have to take it to a Chevy dealer to have it scanned or can any mechanic do it?
  #7  
Old 07-20-2011, 08:11 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 36,870
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

A mechanic with a good scan tool can access the TCCM. Depends on whether they know how though.
  #8  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:19 PM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lethbridge Alberta Canada
Posts: 27
Paul-ish is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok had a friend scan it and coudnt get anything out of it...He pulled up a wiring diagram and found there was power going in but that was about it.
Pulled the TCCM to check for corrosion/dirty connections and it rattled when picking it up.
Sounds like something came loose in it. It's garbage...
Found a local parts truck close by and pulled the TCCM.
Parts numbers dont match but it's from a 99 with the 4 button switch.
From other websites looks like maybe they changed the part # durring the year with updated chipsets or something...

Old part # 1578800
new one #15154323

Hope this one works...I'll find out tomarow[trucks in the shop still]
At least the new/used one only cost me $20
  #9  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:45 AM
xgiovannix12's Avatar
BF Guru
1992 Chevrolet S-10
My Garage
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Summit Ny
Posts: 5,959
xgiovannix12 will become famous soon enough
Default

good luck let us know what happens
__________________


My Build Thread , April 2012 Rotm ,Differential Electric Locking System DIY
>>>My thoughts and comments should be considered at ones own discretion <<<
Current Project: Still waiting for a spider.
  #10  
Old 08-04-2011, 10:26 PM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lethbridge Alberta Canada
Posts: 27
Paul-ish is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

Well finally got around to doing some more work on the truck...
Swapped the TCCM and scanned it again because I was still getting nothing. Scan came back with a couple codes and the guy who scanned it figured the encoder motor was toast to. Bought a used encoder and installed it.
Still nothing. Now im not sure what to do...dont want to keep throwing random parts at it..
Scanned it again a little while ago and heres what comes up.

co323-transfercase lock circuit low
co387-unable to complete shift.

need help...

Last edited by Paul-ish; 08-04-2011 at 11:08 PM.
Old 08-04-2011, 10:26 PM
 
 
 
Closed Thread

Tags
1988s10blazer4x4dontwork, 4x4, 96, blazer, case, chevrolet, chevy, circuit, co323, co387, code, gm, lock, low, obd2, transfer, wont, work


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.