2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

'95 Blazer sputters and dies when operating temp reached...

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 01:33 PM
kstrange is on a distinguished road
Default '95 Blazer sputters and dies when operating temp reached...

Hello all,

Noob here and I've been reading a lot of threads to see if I could find out what might be wrong with my truck. Here's the symptoms and what I've tried so far.

The truck runs fine until it reaches operating temperature and then it sputters around 2500-3000 rpm and just shuts off. It will not restart until it has cooled down and then the same thing happens again.

A friend of a friend of mine is a mechanic and he took a look at it last weekend but said he couldn't figure out what the problem was without throwing parts at it. The check engine light recently came on and he tested for codes which he said that there was some sort of exhaust error. The truck has always had an exhaust leak so I'm not certain that this is the issue.

First I replaced the fuel filter and I just purchased an ICM and replaced it as someone had the same problems and this was the fix for them. Unfortunately, it wasn't for me. I also purchased new wires and plugs but haven't installed them yet and thought I'd ask for advice before I proceed any further.

The plugs are Bosch Platinums because I was told these were the best plugs but from other threads here, seems I may want to return these for AC Delco's?

Could it be the fuel pump when it runs fine up until it's warm? Seems it would be an electrical issue over fuel but I'm clueless as to where to start.

Thanks in advance............

Old 04-03-2011, 04:30 PM
Beginning Member
blazerblack is on a distinguished road