2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

borg warner plug wires po300 code

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2010, 11:46 AM
Beginning Member
High_Speed is on a distinguished road
Default borg warner plug wires po300 code

Okay, so I have a 2001 Blazer LT 4dr 4x4 with the dreaded PO300 code...

I'm no mechanic, but I have a good friend who is, and he and another guy who is supposedly really good on S10s/Blazers has spent the last two days going through everything on it trying to figure out the culprit of the misfiring.

Anyway, the guy pretty much narrowed it down and told me to replace the cap and rotor, plug wires, and then maybe might still need to replace the distributor...

Anyway, already put brand new AC Delco plugs in it, but apparently I have to order the AC Delco wires directly from GM (or get them online obviously) and they said they wouldn't have them in the dealership till Monday or Tuesday at the earliest. They also charge about $170 for the AC Delco wires....

So for now, my main question is: Is there anything wrong with using Borg Warner plug wires? I know I've read that these babies really love the AC Delco plugs, but do the plug WIRES matter as much? Really need to try to get this figured out this weekend....this PO300 is getting on my last nerves....

Old 09-17-2010, 12:06 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute

While I recommend AC/Delc electrical parts for GMs, I think any high quality wires will be fine. That said, I used AC wires, but found them at a great price on eBay.