Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > General Tech Help > 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Blazer Forum!
Welcome to Blazer Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Blazer Forum today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-14-2010, 05:00 PM
warlock3055's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: fla
Posts: 13
warlock3055 is on a distinguished road
Default can you use msd 6a on a 2002 blazer?

hello, i have a 2002 blazer extreme, and i have doing what ever i can to get a lil more power out of this 4.3. like remove the cup like on the butterfly in the throttle , removed the screen in the mass air, what else?? i have a extra msd 6 a from my mustangs, can this be put right in? or is there something else i need to watch for? what is that lil thing next to the coil itself? can i upgrade the coil to a msd one? i saw something from msd called coil interface? what is that? i am new to the chevy blazer, i always loved the tough look to the extreme, please let me know what you all think??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 467
RonJon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Look into the coil interface. Speaking from theory and experience with Chevy motors in the stock cars with a 6 0r 6a.... The MSD can receive a trigger signal from either points or a GM ignition module in the distributor and will plug directly to either (adapter harness for the module). Your blazer receives a trigger signal from the crank and that in turn goes to the PCM. The PCM adjusts the ignition timing and sends a signal to the ignition module (the part next to the coil you inquired about) and that powers the coil. I feel confident you could bypass that module and replace it with a MSD and MSD coil but you just can't "cob" one in there. Call MSD's help line and I'm sure they'll set you up with an adapter harness.
__________________
2000LT Blazer 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2010, 07:17 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 36,947
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

Considering that what you have already done hasn't done much of anything... If you want further information on the mods you have done and why I say this, just search away.

The stock ignition system is already quite hot, I doubt you'll see benefits from an MSD setup without doing some other major modifications. Without mods that raise peak power to a higher RPM where the stock ignition becomes restrictive, the gains will be minimal to say the least.

You want to build power higher in the RPM curve so you'll need a cam, less restrictive exhaust, and a custom tune to take advantage of it all to make an ignition upgrade worth while. The cam is what will push peak power to a higher RPM. Less restrictive exhaust will help it breath at the new RPMs you'll be running, an aftermarket ignition system will allow for higher RPM stability in the ignition system, and the custom tune will bring it all together.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:03 PM
warlock3055's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: fla
Posts: 13
warlock3055 is on a distinguished road
Default

yea i was doing some reading on it, i wasnt sure if i could splice into the two wires going to the coil. that is why i thought i ask if anyone has done that.. thanks for the info you have told me, i will do some looking up what more i can get for then 4.3l motor, i put on a after market exhaust, but that didnt do nothing but dual s out the back, i still have the cats on it, i was told that you cant cut them off due to the o2 is behind it and will not read right? i just wold like to get a lil more power out of it, mine is a 5 speed trans, so it has a lil more take off then the auto, or feels like it to me, i thought maybe if i install the msd i help ake sure i burn all the as i put into it,,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:16 PM
rriddle3's Avatar
Administrator
2013 Cadillac ATS
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Texas
Posts: 5,908
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlock3055 View Post
...i thought maybe if i install the msd i help ake sure i burn all the as i put into it,,
If you meant "help make sure I burn all the gas I put into it", then trust me, you are burning all the gas you put into it, unless it's pouring out the tail pipe.
My question is, what task are you trying to accomplish that the truck is failing to do because of lack of power?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2010, 05:33 AM
warlock3055's Avatar
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: fla
Posts: 13
warlock3055 is on a distinguished road
Default

im not really lacking any power, i just wanted to gain a lil more with it. i just had this msd box sitting on the shelf so i thought i wonder if it can be installed into it. its a good running blazer,
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:33 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
02, 2002, 43, 6a, 6al, blazer, chevy, engine, install, installing, msd, msds, power, put, xtream


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.