2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

can you use msd 6a on a 2002 blazer?

Old 03-14-2010, 05:00 PM
Beginning Member
warlock3055 is on a distinguished road
Default can you use msd 6a on a 2002 blazer?

hello, i have a 2002 blazer extreme, and i have doing what ever i can to get a lil more power out of this 4.3. like remove the cup like on the butterfly in the throttle , removed the screen in the mass air, what else?? i have a extra msd 6 a from my mustangs, can this be put right in? or is there something else i need to watch for? what is that lil thing next to the coil itself? can i upgrade the coil to a msd one? i saw something from msd called coil interface? what is that? i am new to the chevy blazer, i always loved the tough look to the extreme, please let me know what you all think??

Old 03-14-2010, 06:26 PM
RonJon is an unknown quantity at this point

Look into the coil interface. Speaking from theory and experience with Chevy motors in the stock cars with a 6 0r 6a.... The MSD can receive a trigger signal from either points or a GM ignition module in the distributor and will plug directly to either (adapter harness for the module). Your blazer receives a trigger signal from the crank and that in turn goes to the PCM. The PCM adjusts the ignition timing and sends a signal to the ignition module (the part next to the coil you inquired about) and that powers the coil. I feel confident you could bypass that module and replace it with a MSD and MSD coil but you just can't "cob" one in there. Call MSD's help line and I'm sure they'll set you up with an adapter harness.

Old 03-14-2010, 07:17 PM
Administrator