Head Bolt Torque Specs. and Sequence - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:27 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 37
brians1bad72 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Head Bolt Torque Specs. and Sequence

I have a 2001 Blazer 4.3l looking for torque specs and sequence for the heads. I am im the middle of the job right now. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:55 PM
Ryanmatt135's Avatar
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Posts: 586
Ryanmatt135 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/82/cylinderhead.png

First Pass In Sequence - 26 ft-lbs
Second Pass In Sequence - 44 ft-lbs
Final Pass In Sequence - 66 ft-lbs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:14 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 37
brians1bad72 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks Ryan, thats just what I needed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:27 PM
Ryanmatt135's Avatar
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Posts: 586
Ryanmatt135 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

no problem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2010, 02:23 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
actconstruction is on a distinguished road
Default Head bolts 99 Blazer

Ryan, is this correct also for a 1999 Chevy Blazer 4.3L? 1996-2004 should be the same, even though they changed the milling once in that time period, right? And it's the same torque for all the bolts? I only ask because my Haynes manual shows:

Pass 1: all bolts: Torque to 22 ft-lbs.
Pass 2: short bolts: Tighten an additional 55 degrees
Pass 2: medium bolts: Tighten an additional 65 degrees
Pass 2: long bolts: Tighten an additional 75 degrees

Not sure why they chose to describe it that way, but what the hell, man. This method seems far too complicated and prone to error. That's actually what brought me to this post. The last time I had to do head gaskets on this model Blazer, everything worked out okay, but certainly not simple or accurate to make this type of measurement under the hood. Thanks a lot in advance.

Last edited by actconstruction; 04-23-2010 at 02:25 PM. Reason: Oops. Ommitted data.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2010, 04:26 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,440
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default

That is the 'new' bolt tightening. For on vehicle installation, use what Ryan posted above.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:24 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
actconstruction is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the always solid information, guys. Keep up the good work. This forum is great!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2010, 08:38 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
mnjim is on a distinguished road
Smile

Thanks from here too. I'm in the middle of the same kinda project.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:16 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: gettysburg, pa
Posts: 92
rcravincase is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

so youre saying that its ok to reuse the stock bolts? ive always known of tty bolts needing to be replaced once theyve been torqued
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2011, 03:33 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 271
UberFail is on a distinguished road
Default

Don't reuse.... its just that easy. BUY the new ones and save the piece of mind knowing you're not using previously stretched out bolts. if you're really that cheap that u won't pay the few bucks it costs for the set of bolts, you may just end up paying a HELL of a lot more when you do serious damage to the engine. BE SMART and use new bolts - its "Just that Easy!"
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head bolt broke off when installing the head echo1 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 15 08-28-2012 08:56 PM
99 4.3l cylinder head sequence echo1 Engine & Transmission 1 08-11-2012 12:36 AM
Help U-Bolt torque specs NVANZEE Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain 2 04-26-2008 07:17 AM
torque specs pontiacsouth General Tech Help 4 06-30-2006 04:40 AM
**INFO: RIM SPECS FOR A 4WD AND - BMW BOLT PATTERN FOR CHEVY Grkblazer Tires and Wheels 2 09-04-2005 03:54 PM


Tags
1997, 2001, 43l, blazer, chevrolet, chevy, cylinder, engine, head, sequence, spec, specs, torque, venture, vortec

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.