IAT Sensor (not a "tweak" just a q?) - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > General Tech Help > 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
Search



Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:37 AM
taba5's Avatar
Starting Member
1997 Oldsmobile Bravada
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI/IL border
Posts: 195
taba5 is on a distinguished road
Default IAT Sensor (not a "tweak" just a q?)

Does the IAT sensor absolutely HAVE to be in the intake pipe? I put a new Intake on my Bravada and it seriously sits WAY to close (the sensor) to the brake fluid reservoir, and im afraid with just the right bump itll pop out..

I dont want to drill a new hole really, but, Ill do what needs to be done because this ish worries me...


The intake however (besides the sensor spot) is awesome, 3.5" from the hat to the filter works like a charm and not overly throaty
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:39 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,166
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default

Yes, it has to be in the intake pipe. How else could it read the intake air charge temperature.

Can you clock the pipe a bit differently to get it clear of the reservoir?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:44 AM
taba5's Avatar
Starting Member
1997 Oldsmobile Bravada
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WI/IL border
Posts: 195
taba5 is on a distinguished road
Default

I tried and have MAYBE a millimeter or 2 between the lid of the reservoir and the clip of the sensor... if i clock the pipe up itll sit to high, if i drop it lower the MAF will rest on the coolant hose, so in essence i have it in the most optimum spot without redrilling

with the natural twist of the engine during acceleration i dont want it to nudge it out haha..

Thanks for the superfast response I was just gonna make some lunch and bam an answer was given
__________________

Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1995, 1997, 95, air, blazer, bravada, chevy, code, iat, intake, location, sensor, temperature, tweak, tweaking


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAT Sensor Relocation Results R2P Headers, Intake, & Exhaust 1 09-11-2010 12:03 AM
IAT sensor temps are way too high RIFLEMAN 308 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 1 07-31-2010 03:42 PM
IAT Sensor ravenhurst 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 2 11-18-2008 12:03 AM
where is IAT sensor 1989blazed Full Size K5 Tech 1 03-30-2008 09:28 AM
1999 Tweak tbirr Suspension Tech 9 03-23-2006 05:50 PM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.