2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Lower pressure radiator cap

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2010, 08:03 PM
Beginning Member
nutdriver58 is on a distinguished road
Default Lower pressure radiator cap

Just patched the plastic part of the radiator on my '99 Blazer. Read somewhere that I could replace the existing radiator cap (15 psi) with a lower rated cap (say 8-9#'s) so that there would be less pressure on my patch. Do you think this is a good idea?

Old 10-17-2010, 11:32 PM
4x4blazerguy is on a distinguished road

Not really, These systems are designed to run these higher pressures. You could run into a lower pressure cap affecting temps etc. Repairing these plastic radiators doesn't work. Replace it new ones are only around $125. I'm an old mechanic & have tried once to repair one of these plastic radiators & it held about a day or so.

Old 10-18-2010, 06:27 PM
Beginning Member

I appreciate your advice and that's exactly what I'm going to do. Replace it. Didn't know they were that inexpensive.
Just patched it y-day with Quicksteel. (Crack was in a very accessible place and I didn't even have to remove radiator!) Anyhow, it's seeping already so enough of that. It was worth a try, I guess.

Old 10-19-2010, 03:54 AM
xmradioguy is an unknown quantity at this point

The high pressure is what allows the coolant to run at temps higher than the boiling point without boiling over a low pressured rad will boil the coolant.

Old 10-30-2010, 08:48 PM
Beginning Member