2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Replacing camshaft sensor

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2009, 10:28 AM
fox59 is on a distinguished road
Default Replacing camshaft sensor

Pulled my codes and got P0340. I did a search and found that it's located around the distributor, but nothing really specific about the exact location. I'm just a shade tree mechanic at best and don't want to get into more than I can handle. Can anyone tell me exactly where it is and whats invoved in replacing it?

Thanks

Forgot to mention it's a 96 4x4 if that helps

Last edited by fox59; 08-07-2009 at 11:03 AM.
Old 08-07-2009, 02:18 PM
Starting Member
hkellogg is an unknown quantity at this point

It's located on top of the distrutor if I recall correctly you have to take the cap and rotor off

Old 08-07-2009, 09:33 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

It is located under the rotor inside the distributor. You have to align the gate in the reluctor ring (what the rotor mounts to) with the head of the CMP sensor, then you should be able to unbolt it and slide it out the side of the distributor.

Some illustrations:

Old 06-22-2010, 07:27 AM
Beginning Member
cardude59 is on a distinguished road

THANSK A TON!!! I did not have ask the question and you answered it-- you must be psyco .... er.. psyic .

Old 02-28-2011, 10:24 PM
Keezie is on a distinguished road

Hi, first time posting