2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Rubber Oil Lines

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2006, 05:17 AM
kaindragoon36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Rubber Oil Lines

I have a '97 2Dr 4x4 Blazer, with the rubber oil lines starting to leak. I'm an aircraft mechanic also, but I don't do hydraulic line work. How do you guys go about replacing these lines? Do you replace the whole line, hard section included, or do you just replace the rubber part? I was reading about putting hydraulic ends on it and putting braided lines in there. I'm just wondering how you would go about actually getting the connections on the ends of the hard lines and what tools it would require.

Thanks in advance!

Old 03-27-2006, 10:00 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Rubber Oil Lines

When we did the repair on my Grandfathers S10, we simply used our die grinder with a cutoff wheel (hacksaw would also work) to cut off the crimps. Deburred the cut ends. Then brazed on the proper fittings. Flaring will work here also, but you may need to use a double male connector, but our experience with flaring old lines has not been spectacular - hence the brazing. Had hoses made up with swivel connections at both ends. Done. Did not even have to remove the lines from the truck. Everything was done from underneith.