2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Sluggish acceleration + stumble at idle

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2012, 08:50 PM
billfrank85 is on a distinguished road
Default Sluggish acceleration + stumble at idle

I'm new to these 4.3's so I'm not sure how much pick up and go they're supposed to have...but I feel like they should perform a lot better than mine currently is. Feels somewhat sluggish when taking off, like I have to give it a lot of gas in order to go anywhere. 98 Jimmy 4x4

Here's what I've done:
Spark plugs (AC Delco iridiums)
Wires
Fuel filter
Techron treatment x 2
Air filter
Cleaned MAF sensor
PCV valve
Verified condition of all vacuum connections
ECT sensor
No codes present

Tomorrow, I will be replacing the cap and rotor with AC Delco parts. I'm not sure how old the current equipment is. Is there anything else I should be looking at? Seems like my engine has a slight stumble or hesitation at idle, too.

Old 04-27-2012, 11:43 PM
4x4blazerguy is on a distinguished road

Did you think of checking compression? Did you clean the TB. What did the plugs look like?

Old 04-28-2012, 07:13 AM

No I didn't think to clean the TB or check compression. Might get one of those Seafoam intake cleaners today and try that, too.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_mwzxyywxcG...plugs+sign.jpg

Spark plugs that came out were Denso TT's and were "normal" -- slight brownish color.

Old 04-28-2012, 07:38 AM
BF Veteran
pettyfog has a spectacular aura aboutpettyfog has a spectacular aura about

So you cleaned the MAF, but have you tried driving it {warmed up} with the MAF disconnected?
Difference driving cold and hot?
Any starting problems?

Old 04-28-2012, 08:10 AM
spittybays