2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

valve lifters

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2006, 10:02 AM
chevy_kalle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default valve lifters

I'm about to replace all of my hydraulic valve lifters, how hard is it to do it? Will i have to put on a new headgasket (as in how deep do i have to go)? I'm no pro on engines, i've only done quite simple things, is it hard?

Thanks for any help!

Old 12-07-2006, 10:08 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: valve lifters

Is there a back story to this??? Why are you replacing all of your lifters?

Anyway, to replace the lifters, you'll need to remove the valve covers to gain access to the rocker arms and the intake manifold to gain access to the lifter valley. Loosen all of the rocker arms so you can remove the push rods. Keep the push rods not only in order from where they came, but keep track of which end was up. I'll typically take a box and punch holes in it. In the case of the 4.3L, 6 holes down one edge and 6 down the opposite edge on the top of the box. Put an arrow in the center to denote the front of the engine. Then simply remove the push rods one by one and place them into their respective hole in the box. You should then be able to remove the lifters from their bores. Reassembly is reverse of disassembly.