2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Heat works for first couple miles then gets cold

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2018, 04:52 PM
Starting Member
gvaha18 is on a distinguished road
Default Heat works for first couple miles then gets cold

Alright, so I have a 2004 Blazer that the heat does not work. After I mess with it it will work for the first couple of miles and then it gradually gets colder and colder. I have replaced the radiator (it had a leak), the thermostat and the heater core. I can hear the blend door switch and I can see the actuator turning the door. I have also had the system flushed 5 times. I have felt the hoses that attach to the heater core and they both feel warm. One does feel warmer than the other. I do not know where to go from here. It has 191k miles on it so i really don't wanna bring it in and pay for someone to fix it as i am also a college student. I am going to try to bleed the system to try to get any air pockets out tomorrow night. Any other suggestions to get the heat to work?

Old 01-25-2018, 06:39 PM
GreenBlazer2002 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by gvaha18
Alright, so I have a 2004 Blazer that the heat does not work. After I mess with it it will work for the first couple of miles and then it gradually gets colder and colder. I have replaced the radiator (it had a leak), the thermostat and the heater core. I can hear the blend door switch and I can see the actuator turning the door. I have also had the system flushed 5 times. I have felt the hoses that attach to the heater core and they both feel warm. One does feel warmer than the other. I do not know where to go from here. It has 191k miles on it so i really don't wanna bring it in and pay for someone to fix it as i am also a college student. I am going to try to bleed the system to try to get any air pockets out tomorrow night. Any other suggestions to get the heat to work?