Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Stereo Wiring and Install Parts

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2015, 04:44 PM
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough

Sounds like you got something hooked up wrong and either the internal amp is shutting itself off to protect it from a short or you've already blown the internal amp.

Another possibility is that the HU has an option to turn off the internal amp and you accidentally turned that off, but it's not very likely as you'd probably have noticed when you did that right away and prompted turned it back on.

Did you cut the factory plug off the harness?

Old 06-03-2015, 05:13 PM
Beginning Member
wirspider is on a distinguished road
Default Do the wires meet somewhere between stereo and speakers?

I have a 98 ls 4dr. I've been running a pioneer aftermarket for a few years with no problems. Out of no where I lost all volume except a small amount coming from the passenger dash speaker. I've tried other stereos with same results. Does any one know where the wires go after they leave the stereo? Do they go straight to the speakers or do they meet somewhere before the speakers?

Old 06-03-2015, 06:41 PM
lazyboyjake is on a distinguished road

Assuming you don't have the premium factory stereo then they should go straight to the speakers. Are you still using the factory speakers? They have a tendency to crap out after a while.

Old 06-03-2015, 08:12 PM
Beginning Member

It had the factory stereo in it years ago but I replaced it with a pioneer.

I only had the front 4 speakers hooked up. Dash and doors. It's really hard to imagine all 4 speakers going bad at the exact same time because I didn't have the radio turned up at the time. I was trying to when I noticed it.