Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

01 blazer won't shift into 3rd gear

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 07:09 PM
Cornhusker is on a distinguished road
Default 01 blazer won't shift into 3rd gear

I recently put a salvaged trany (70k miles) in my 01 blazer. I have been driving it for 2 1/2 months with no problems, and then last night it wouldn't shift out of second gear. I thought maybe it was the cold, so today I let it run for 30 minutes before driving, and it was the same problem. When I manually shift into 3rd the car just revs like it's in neuteral. While I was transporting my new transmission the main wire connection on the drivers side was damaged. The pins were ok, but the plastic casing was broken. Could this problem be electrical? Does anyone know what might cause this kind of problem?

Thanks,

John

Old 10-13-2009, 12:58 PM
ant2297 is an unknown quantity at this point

Yes it most likely is electrical. If the protective casing is broken around the pins moisture will throw off the electrical signal. Your engine light is probably on and youre in limp home mode. Is this problem intermittent or is it constant now? If your engine light is on what is the code? I had a similar problem with my truck and it took me a loong time to figure it out after I checked every single wire from the battery to the tranny itself. Its hard to determine where the problem actually is but i would start at that connector first. Inspect for corrosion.

Old 10-20-2009, 11:24 AM

I broke down and took it to the dealer. They told me it was something internal, and they would have to remove the tranny, and take it apart to troubleshoot ($1900+ whatever they find wrong). So I bought a new one, and installed it myself this weekend. Thanks for the response though.

Old 11-01-2009, 05:33 PM