Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

havin tranny problems and more...

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2010, 08:48 PM
shutt218 is on a distinguished road
Default havin tranny problems and more...

I just got my blazer back from havin a motor swap done on it. the old motor had a rod knocking. The guy i had bought the blazer from said he just put a "new" tranny in but didnt specify whether he had it rebuilt, a junkyard tranny, or if a NEW one was put in. During the swap my buddy noticed the tranny had markings on it like it was from the junkyard. But it seems to shift fine and all until yesterday. One of the metal tranny lines under the radiator got puntured some how or rubbed a hole in it from flexing and rubbing on the mount its ran next to. i leaked a bit of fluid since yesterday and i shut it off last night and pulled the dipstick and fluid was startin to spray out the tube. i know it shouldnt do that but idk the cause im no mechanic. Also the heat was working up till around this time as well. And my temp gauge increases steadily and rapidly after starting cold and usually sits 3/4 or inbetween 210 and 260 so i replaced my thermostat and added more antifreeze. still barely any heat. this is my only mode of transportation for the time and im just looking for some pointers as to what i should do to fix these problems.

Old 11-15-2010, 01:22 AM
TZFBird is on a distinguished road

The cooler line can be fixed as easily as a tubing cutter, some fuel line(high pressure would probably be safer), and some hose clamps.

Just cut the line at the hole, slip the hose over it and clamp. There should not be a lot of pressure going through there so that will work fine.

As far as the temp you could take it somewhere and have it checked/flushed, or you can do it yourself.