Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

1996 blazer stuck in 4 wheel drive

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2013, 08:29 PM
Starting Member
DBOBA is on a distinguished road
Default 1996 blazer stuck in 4 wheel drive

Hello, newbie here.

Hoping someone could help.

I have a 1996 Blazer 4 wheel drive. In the dash is the 4 wheel drive switch - 3 switches total in one - one for 2wd - one for 4lo - one for 4hi.

The problem started recently where the switch was acting up - about 25% of the time it would allow 4 Lo and engage while 75% of the time it would indicate it was in 4 Lo but rather it was in 4 Hi making it difficult to climb our driveway. After playing around with it - it would eventually go into 4 Lo and all good.

The switch always would be illuminated when in use until the other day where it went dead - no lights whatsoever nor could I make any changes to the drive it was in - now stuck in 4wheel Lo. I checked the fuse, the lines, the line to the tranny all looks good.

I ordered an aftermarket switch brand new thinking that was the problem and when it arrived installed it today, still no lights or anything and the truck/blazer is still stuck in 4 wheel drive and we cannot go anywhere fearing we will fry the transfer and tranny.

Has anyone ran into this issue and can offer a suggestion on where to troubleshoot or what to do?
Thank you in advance!

DB

Old 07-09-2013, 03:37 PM
Beginning Member
wierdo124 is on a distinguished road

Check your vacuum actuator lines.

Old 07-12-2013, 04:18 PM
aa21830 is on a distinguished road

Take a look at this. It's just my own layman's version of how I troubeshoot 4x4 issues. Key thing to do is the TCCM dianostic test. Takes a little time to read the instructions and comprehend, but it beats throwing money at the problem.

Old 03-05-2018, 08:15 PM
Velox313 is on a distinguished road
Default 2004 Blazer stuck in 4WD

My Blazer is stuck in 4WD even thought the 2WD light is lit.