Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

2001 Blazer Transmission Issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2011, 02:02 PM
wickedrigs is on a distinguished road
Default 2001 Blazer Transmission Issues

Hey All, I am new to the Blazerforum and am also a new owner of a 2001 Blazer LT. It has 111,000 miles on it with the 4.3L motor. The interior is clean and has new brakes, shocks, and decent tires. I just finished changing the oil, spark plugs, and wires...the plugs gave me hell. I also plan on doing the front/rear differental fluid...oh ya, I bought it for $300.00.

Problem with it is, that the owner assumed that the transmission was shot. He told me to come haul it to scrap and he would split it with me or give him $300.00 and I could have it. Knowing that the vehicle would not go into reverse and wasn't sure how many miles it will go in any of the forward gears, I have begun diagnosing this vehicle and started the tear down. The Blazer did not have any DTC codes. The oil was fair to bad. The plugs needed changed.

I noticed when I pulled the vehicle into the shop, that it was in 4-Low. I placed the transmission into neutral and tried to select 2-Hi. I tried this multiple times without any luck. I lifted the rear end and then git the selector to 2-HI and if finally went into 2-HI, but still no reverse....and this is why I came to you guys. Does anyone knowhow I can diagnose this issue prior to dropping the transmission? When I pulled the trans dip-stick, the fluid didn't look horrible and didn't smell burnt. Any advice would be great, Thanks in advance!!!

Old 04-10-2011, 10:00 PM

Nobody.......

Well I have begun the removal and it is not an easy one. The upper bolts on the bell housing are impossible to get to. I think that when the cross-member is removed and I let the transmission down a bit, I may have access. If anyone has done one of these and give pitch in a bit, I would GREATLY appreciate it.

Old 04-11-2011, 06:49 AM