Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

compression and/or leak down test - take it to a shop or diy?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Starting Member
kerander is an unknown quantity at this point
Default compression and/or leak down test - take it to a shop or diy?

I think I've got a blown head gasket because the engine overheated due to a bad radiator leak. There's coolant in the oil, but only slightly (I could only tell by adding some dye to the coolant; it wasn't milky). A compression and a leak down test seems like the next logical step, but I don't know if I should buy the stuff to do it myself or not. Most people are quoting me about 80 - 120 to do it, and that seems pretty expensive to me, but I'm no expert. Is it pretty easy to do yourself?

Old 02-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: compression and/or leak down test - take it to a shop or diy?

A compression test would tell you if it is a head gasket or an intake gasket failure. This is something you can do in your garage. The leak down test will require an air compressor and is used for checking ring and valve seal and really isn't necessary for your problem.

Old 02-06-2008, 12:07 AM
BF Veteran
Chevy Lover has a spectacular aura aboutChevy Lover has a spectacular aura aboutChevy Lover has a spectacular aura about