Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Bearing "Squealing" type noise under the hood

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 05:55 PM
Hodad is on a distinguished road
Default Bearing "Squealing" type noise under the hood

Hi, all. I'm new to the forum and I hate to be a burden right off, but I have a 1996 Blazer (2wd) that intermittently makes a noise under the hood that reminds me a little of a power steering pump belt squealing, but its more of a "shearing/swishing bad bearing" kind of sound. Sorry, Im not very good at the description.

Anyway, I removed the one and only belt and the noise stopped. So I rebuilt the alternator and replaced the idler pulley and bearing in hopes the noise would stop, but it did not. That only leaves the A/C clutch, water pump and power steering pump. I also wonder if the cooling fan clutch might cause such a noise - I know I can frequently hear the cooling fan randomly speed up and slow down, like the thermal clutch isn't working properly but the noise I spoke of does not seem to change with the fan.

Anyone have any ideas on what this might be? It gets very loud sometimes and It's driving me crazy. My neighbor has an S-10 pickup that does the same thing and his mechanic can't find it either. Any help will be much appreciated.

Old 03-18-2009, 06:05 PM
oisinirish is an unknown quantity at this point

Did you also replace the tensioner?
Are you getting any "weird" wear on the belt itself?

Old 03-18-2009, 06:43 PM

Yes I also replaced the tensioner and am not getting any weird belt wear. The belt seems to be running very smooth.
Oh, and i found a couple more words that better describe the noise "whining/whirring"

Last edited by Hodad; 03-18-2009 at 06:50 PM.
Old 03-23-2009, 09:47 AM
cide is an unknown quantity at this point

I have this same problem,
Although my 98 Blazer has 350,000KM on it... I have a new serpentine belt, Have not tried replacing components such as the tensioner or pulley.