crankshaft position sensor - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


Go Back   Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums > Mechanical & Maintenance > Engine & Transmission
Search



Closed Thread
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:24 PM
Starting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 151
agent305 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to agent305
Default crankshaft position sensor

hi, its a 00 blazer 4.3 , just wonderin where the crankshaft position sensor is
__________________


12volt installer
00 blazer ls
  #2  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:48 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,166
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

It is located on the passenger side of the front cover slightly behind the harmonic balancer. Looking at the front of the engine, it will be approximately at the 7 o'clock position.

If you are replacing this component, please be aware that a CKP variation learn proceedure will need to be completed. This allows the PCM to precisely calibrate the characteristics of the new sensor to that of the engine for accurate timing control.
  #3  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:48 PM
Starting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 151
agent305 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to agent305
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

thanks. could you tell me how to do the learn procedure?
__________________


12volt installer
00 blazer ls
  #4  
Old 03-06-2007, 10:58 PM
Starting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 151
agent305 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to agent305
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

here is what my scanner says.... PO339 -- crankshaft position sensor a ckt intermitant--- does that mean i havta replace it? on s10forums some people say they replaced it and didnt have to do the relearn part, others say they did.
__________________


12volt installer
00 blazer ls
  #5  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:21 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 865
20Blazer00 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

Quote:
ORIGINAL: agent305

here is what my scanner says.... PO339 -- crankshaft position sensor a ckt intermitant--- does that mean i havta replace it? on s10forums some people say they replaced it and didnt have to do the relearn part, others say they did.
Since it is intermitant it indicates either a bad wire or connector at the sensor or the PCM computer...it is not getting a steady signal...also check the cam postition sensor in the distributor since the computer needs both signals to sync the ignition pulses the DTC may not be totally accurate...but related...
__________________
Mark

2000 Blazer LS 4dr 4.3L Auto
1999 Grand Am 3.4L 4dr SE2 - Traded
2000 Honda Odyssey 3.5L 5dr Mini-Van
  #6  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
cegimonl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

Quote:
ORIGINAL: agent305

thanks. could you tell me how to do the learn procedure?
Just unplug the positive conecctor of battery for ten minutes. That will reset the computer and everything will be allright.
  #7  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:11 AM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,166
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

Quote:
ORIGINAL: cegimonl

Quote:
ORIGINAL: agent305

thanks. could you tell me how to do the learn procedure?
Just unplug the positive conecctor of battery for ten minutes. That will reset the computer and everything will be allright.
Untrue. A CASE Relearn cannot be performed by simply unplugging the battery. This is a specific procedure that must be initiated via a Tech2 or equivalent scan tool and specific steps followed to complete the procedure.
  #8  
Old 06-10-2008, 02:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
cegimonl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

I did the computer reset unplugging the battery and worked but anyway I will do the learn procedure that you said swartlkk. Just a recommendation, that piece have a screw that does not have to be screw it to tight to avoid the crankshaft hit the sensor making the piece work failure and producing a weird sound.
  #9  
Old 06-10-2008, 02:56 PM
swartlkk's Avatar
Administrator
2009 GMC Yukon Denali
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, NY
Posts: 40,166
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via ICQ to swartlkk Send a message via AIM to swartlkk
Default RE: crankshaft position sensor

It may work just fine, but you really will never know until you could potentially have a problem. A CASE learn will save you from spending a lot of money chasing problems later.
 
 
 
Closed Thread

Tags
1995, 2000, 34, 43, blazer, cam, camshaft, chevy, ckp, crank, crankshaft, grand, location, position, positioning, sensor


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[BLAZER 99] How to test a crankshaft position sensor ? pierrem 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 1 12-10-2009 01:12 PM
Crankshaft position sensor 95 blazer 4.3 johnbrown06 Engine & Transmission 2 11-26-2009 05:16 PM
How do I test the crankshaft position sensor? theeviltwinn 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 3 10-13-2009 05:08 PM
crankshaft position sensor!! DecaYedZombiE 2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech 3 02-13-2008 10:34 PM
crankshaft position sensor murfthesurf4 Engine & Transmission 8 11-26-2007 11:54 AM

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.