Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Hesitates when accelerating from a stop

Old 04-13-2014, 04:57 PM
kbonbrake is on a distinguished road
Default Hesitates when accelerating from a stop

This weekend I did a tranny fluid/filter change. Everything was running fine beforehand just some preventive maintenance. I did not touch anything else. Anyway, now when accelerating from a stop it wants to hesitate. It doesn't rev high or anything just noticeably sluggish. It only does it when first taking off and as soon as you get going it runs as normal. This never happened until now. Did I do something wrong? Is this even tranny related? Any input would be much appreciated.

Old 04-13-2014, 06:56 PM
Starting Member
DimeBlazr is on a distinguished road

Im not an expert but its possible that you could have damaged a shift solenoid when removing or reinstalling the pan, they are real close to the pan rail, or possibly a pinched solenoid wire, the question is, is it really acting normal? Can you watch the tach while accelerating to 55 from a dead stop and verify that its actually shifting through all 4 gears? If its feeling sluggish also try selecting manual 1st/low gear and see how it acts? Also, any check engine light or codes? One last stupid but possible thing, did you set the e-brake when you had it jacked up to drop the pan? Its possible the brakes or cable are hung up making it feel sluggish, sometimes its the simple things?

Old 04-13-2014, 08:54 PM
BF Veteran
cleburne red will become famous soon enough

Is it an engine related hesitation, or in the transmission? Does it idle fine, and rev smoothly in neutral? Maybe you accidentally pulled a vacuum line loose working on the transmission, and now it's running rough?

Also, like DimeBlazr said, manually shift the transmission and see if there's any difference.

Old 04-13-2014, 09:32 PM
Starting Member
Michael robinson is on a distinguished road