Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

How to tell is block is cracked?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2014, 11:04 AM
ShannonF is on a distinguished road
Default How to tell is block is cracked?

Hi all - I'm a shade tree mechanic, and this is my first time removing a head to replace a head gasket. I have the head off, but am not sure how to tell if I have cracked the block.

98 Blazer 4x4, 4.3 vortec - water for coolant, and we had a winter freeze in VA. Radiator turned to an icecube, and as I drove it down the road, it started to overheat (near red line). Waited till it cooled, and drove it home, pulling over twice as it started to near red line again. After this, a freeze plug needed to be replaced, and the truck started spewing steam out of the tail pipe - burning coolant.

During the tear down, when I removed the bottom head bolts closest to passenger firewall, water POURED from each. The head gasket wasn't happy about coming off, but doesn't really show any major signs of failure.

So now I have the engine apart, ready to put a new head gasket on - but how do I know if it was just the head gasket, or if I cracked the block? I know to check the head for warping, or have it machined - I just don't want to put it all back together and have missed something obvious. The piston on the suspect cylinder it at the top, so I can't just look down the hole and see if the wall has a crack.

BTW: Before I tore her apart, she was running good as ever, despite the clouds of smoke from the exhaust. Would a cracked block have made the truck run bad?

Thanks in advance!

Old 02-25-2014, 11:15 AM
Beginning Member
Wolvezbane is on a distinguished road
Default Some signs of engine block cracking

Oil in Antifreeze