Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Rebuilt Motor; Has 60psi Oil Pressure; No Oil At The Rockers

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2015, 01:49 PM
Beginning Member
WildDomesticTabby is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Rebuilt Motor; Has 60psi Oil Pressure; No Oil At The Rockers

This is my first attempt at rebuilding a GM product, so I'm assuming I'm probably doing something wrong. Here's the issue: the motor is installed with the distributor in (I prefer it to a priming tool). I get an immediate 60 PSI reading on the oil gauge as soon as I get on the starter. However, I could be cranking the motor for a straight minute and won't see any oil coming out up top.

The motor has all new components inside, including Sealed Power lifters and M-155HV oil pump. Please note that the lifters were kept in oil for about two months prior to their installation :P

There's one scenario that I believe could have botched the rebuild job--the rear end of the main oil galley. I had to outsource that job due to time constraints, and that was about the only thing I outsourced. Refer to the pic below:

The guy who reinstalled that plug reassured me that he had screwed it in "almost all the way". Do you guys think that he got that 1/2" plug so far in that it's now blocking the feed to the oil galley? If so, why do I have any oil pressure reading?

I don't want to try my luck by starting the truck to see if oil squirts out the top.

Thanks guys.

Attached Thumbnails Rebuilt Motor; Has 60psi Oil Pressure; No Oil At The Rockers-2015_08_30_13_18_34.jpg  
Old 08-31-2015, 02:43 PM
LesMyer will become famous soon enough