Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Seriously weird problem - inconsistent cranking, does not attempt to fire

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2014, 12:49 PM
Friday9158 is on a distinguished road
Default Seriously weird problem - inconsistent cranking, does not attempt to fire

Let me start off by introducing myself, my name is Jordan, I just signed up for membership and from what I've browsed so far, seems like an awesome place with some great, knowledgable people. I appreciate any help or suggestions that can be thrown my way.

With that said, I'm no mechanic, however not terribly inept when it comes to this kind of topic...so please bear with me.
I'll start off by saying I own a 1998 Bravada, I understand it's not a blazer, however much of the mechanics should be quite similar besides the obvious smart track setup (which I hate)

Here's the story: I pulled off the inlet and outlet tube for my heater core in order to blow out any debris in attempt to hopefully get a little more heat out of the thing, been extremely cold here in central PA over the past few weeks. So, of course, I pull off the tubes, and the (brown ) coolant blows everywhere, as expected. So I get out my trusty garden hose and start alternating between the inlet and outlet, trying to reverse the typical flow in order to break up as much sediment as possible. Needless to say, water is blowing everywhere in the engine bay, soaking absolutely everything. Keep in mind, this vehicle has 197,000 miles on it, I highly doubt shes as sealed up under there as once she once was.