Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Tranny shifts hard when at operating temp.

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2010, 09:43 PM
hubert hefner is on a distinguished road
Default Tranny shifts hard when at operating temp.

my friend and i changed the tranny in his '99 bravada b/c it lost 3-4 gears. well the tranny we put in shifts hard from 1-2 when you drive it for a while and it gets up to operating temperature. its fine when its cold. i did notice that the temp gauge barely gets over the 100 degree mark even when its warm. We think that the valve body may be bad? or could the temp guage be causing this issue? I searched for a how-to on changing the valve body but haven't found one. is this a pretty hard job seeing how i have never done this before.

Thanks for all the help in advance,

dustin

Old 02-26-2010, 09:58 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Sooner or later I bet you will get a P1870 code if the problem is left unrepaired.

Many mechanics will tell you that the trans is bad and needs to be replaced or rebuilt. If you have a high mileage trans, then they may be correct. However, that probably isn't the only problem.

The real reason for the problem is the valve body and it needs to be corrected. If caught early enough in the life of the trans it won't cause too much damage. The TCC regulator valve is the likely cause for the harsh warm 1-2 shift. The Sonnax TCC Valve Regulator Valve Kit (CLICK HERE and scroll down to just after 43G as an example of a source for this part).