Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Engine removal help

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2009, 05:48 PM
Beginning Member
dunontme is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Engine removal help

I left a shop rag in the engine block while changing my intake manifold gasket and it has made its way down to the oil pan. Time to pull the engine to get it out. I have never done anything like this before and could use all the info & tips I can get so please tell me what you know. I'm using you guys and my Chilton automotive repair manual to guide me so no tip is to small. 1998 blazer 4x4 vin W automatic four door 4.3L v6

Old 11-16-2009, 09:31 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Masking tape! Label everything with masking tape. Most things cannot be plugged into the wrong places, but it helps to know where things go. Just write on the roll of masking tape and then wrap the component. You can even pre-wrap things and then snap a picture before you remove it.

You'll start with wiring removal. Then you'll get to the wholesale disassembly. It may be easier to drop the transmission out the bottom and then lift the motor out the top. It all depends on what you have on hand to use. The bellhousing bolts are easiest if you have the back end of the transmission dropped down. Just remember to remove the distributor before you drop the back of the trans down unless you had it on your list of things to replace! LOL