Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Valvebody issues? - trans experts chime in

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2015, 08:07 AM
Gman4dx266 is on a distinguished road
Default Valvebody issues? - trans experts chime in

As a brief back-story: I bought my blazer with no 3rd/4th. The precious owner didn't understand the TV cable setup on 700r4's and just clipped it on. There was another issue which contributed to the 3/4 failure which I'll go over in a minute. When driving it would just freespin on the 2>3 shift. I could manhandle the throttle and get 3rd to bit and hold however it would never even attempt OD.

First let me say that this is my 4th transmission I've rebuilt (two 700r4, one 4L60e, and a 4L80e) so I am by no means an expert but I believe my understanding of them is much above average.

Going back, upon r&r I found the 3/4 piston had pinched and torn lip seals. Trans got all new lip seals...well all seals in general, and was rebuilt. Governor was also serviced with a new gear and valve was free. The Valvebody valves seemed to be tight occasionally, sometimes getting stuck in their bore more than normal (I think) while I was servicing and cleaning the VB.

New transmission is together and in the truck. The issues at that point are:

1) I have 2nd gear starts in OD. I can manually select first and it gives me first.

2) there is a fair amount of 2>3 flare. Id say 500rpm surge at full throttle. 3/4 Clutch pack was set up at 0.033

3) still no 4th gear. Trans stops at 3rd. Only difference between the OD and 3 position is engine braking in 3rd.