Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Damage transfer case/trans?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2013, 11:22 PM
Starting Member
New2K5 is on a distinguished road
Default Damage transfer case/trans?

Just got my '77 K5 and I'm new to 4x4, it has a stock NP203 (I think) case in it.

While learning to drive the 4x4 I made a few mistakes that have me worried.

Not knowing at the time I assumed this was like the other Blazer's I've seen so I put the 4x4 stick in Neutral and the column stick in drive to Neutral...Nothing happened except even when applying gas except rolling backwards so OK I put the truck column in Park and heard a really loud grinding noise that sounded like nails on a chalk board and chains being pulled/beat/stretched/you get the idea.

The automatic transmission (column) was now stuck in between Park and Reserve and when I tried to move it a bit further to park the noise and grinding became worse. I managed to get it into park I forget how but after that the noise stopped. Never heard anything that loud come from a car in my life, scared the hell out of me. I also shifted the 4x4 stick without stopping at each position or going into Neutral.

This happened a few times before someone jumped in and showed me the proper way to operate the K5 and NP203 case/4x4. Another thing I'm curious about is why the 4x4 stick was vibrating like hell???

I'm a newbie to 4x4 vehicles so excuse the lack of knowledge! My concerns are:

-Did I damage the Transfer case?
-Did I damage the Automatic Transmission?
-Did I possibly damage anything else?
-What should I check for to see if I damaged anything?
-Should I have a mechanic to drop the case and take it apart/check it? And what should I tell him to check for???

I'm worried I ruined a real nice vintage K5 from a few newbie mistakes, any help would be appreciated before I visit the mechanic on Friday!

Old 07-04-2013, 08:16 AM
Administrator