Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

thinkin about switchin from tbi to carb

Old 03-29-2014, 07:57 PM
locke1992 is on a distinguished road
Default thinkin about switchin from tbi to carb

i have a 1989 Scottsdale k5 blazer that im really considering changing over from the stock TBI system to a holly or edlelbrock carb. i have a rebuilt 350 that i cant get to start and im not sure of the problem(it was running then sat for a year before i bought it). i rebuilt the tbi and im getting fuel spraying from the injectors and spark from the distributor to the plugs, all itll do is turn over, all the spark plugs are new and fresh gas. if i spray starting fluid in the tbi the truck well sputter and act like it wants to run then die. not sure if its a ECU problem. dont know much about ECU system. im fairly new to rebuilds.
- is there a way i can check the timing if it doesnt run?
- what all would i have to change over to switch to a carb?
- is it more work and money to switch over then it worth?
- if i switch over could i take out all the ECU to just avoid that headache?

any advice or tips that i could use to trouble shoot are more than welcome

Last edited by locke1992; 03-29-2014 at 09:07 PM.
Old 03-29-2014, 09:56 PM
mr.vls will become famous soon enough