General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

Advice on Bumper Replacement - 2000 Blazer

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2015, 09:26 PM
Foxcliffe is on a distinguished road
Default Advice on Bumper Replacement - 2000 Blazer

Hi Everyone -
I need some general advice here. I was on some back dirt roads and my 2000 Blazer slid into a tree, denting the right side bumper just a bit and pushing that side back enough to touch the tire. With some help I was able to pull the bumper out, allowing me to drive smoothly. However, I'm new to the arena of body work so I will need to have the bumper replaced.

Has anyone had a similar situation? Can anyone give any recommendations as to some next steps? Will a body shop hammer out the dent and reset the bumper? Or is a brand new bumper necessary? Costs?

Thanks all for any advice. Much appreciated.

Old 09-28-2015, 09:42 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

A quick google search will find a new bumper. A body shop would do the same thing and replace the bumper.
Searching on google will find the best price.
Mind you, once you find a place that has a bumper, search that place to make sure it is legit.

RockAuto Parts Catalog is a great place to go for parts.
Truck Parts & Truck Accessories for Chevy, GMC, Ford & Dodge Trucks | LMCTruck.com is another good place but a bit more on the spendy side.

Old 09-28-2015, 09:48 PM

Thanks, richphotos! I'll check that site out for parts and pricing. Any idea on how much time/labor would go into something like that? I'm trying to get an idea for the cost of a pretty straight forward bumper replacement. Thanks again.

Old 09-29-2015, 07:18 AM
Jamaroon has a spectacular aura aboutJamaroon has a spectacular aura about