General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

New here, just a few technical questions.

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2014, 11:26 AM
TMR_BLAZER is on a distinguished road
Default New here, just a few technical questions.

Hey everyone, I have been a long time viewer, but this is my first post.

I just bought a 2002 blazer ls 2 door 4wd with 90k on the dash purchased about a month ago
A little back ground of me, I am 20 years old, I am a technician at a chevy dealership and I am a certified master mechanic through the sate.

I live in the sticks of Michigan where you see more dirt roads than pavement and gas stations are few and far between.

I need my blazer to get through snow and lots of it.

Here are my questions.

Solid front axle swaps. I found the ORD kit online and thats cool and all but where am I suppose to find such specific axles? they say you can only use axles from 70's and 80s trucks/ jeeps, why can't i use newer model ones?

IFS lifts such as 6 inch super lifts. how capable are these? strength wise?

V8 swaps..I also found the kits online. can I have a 6 inch IFS lift and swap in a V8 with the online kits?

will the V8 power destroy my drive train from the 4.3

Thanks in advance, I love the community and will have pics of my blazer up shortly.

Old 10-19-2014, 11:57 AM
BF Veteran
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough

Just my opinion, take it for what its worth. Not taxing the IFS axles. The best setup is solid axle swap. And unless your going ls engine dont really think you`ll gain much horsepower and be adding weight. Yes with normal driving and even some offroading the drivetrain should hold up to a v8 if you go that rt

Old 10-19-2014, 02:08 PM

okay thanks for the reply!