Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Changed lower intake gasket, now no compression

Old 01-20-2017, 01:25 PM
Starting Member
bblack13 is on a distinguished road
Default Changed lower intake gasket, now no compression

Hi everyone. First let me say, I have been using this forum for several years now to search for info and help regarding my blazer. You guys rock.

Hopefully this is in the right place. I've never posted on here before.

I have a 95 blazer. I had a few problems in October with starting on cold days. I replaced the battery and starter, which seemed to fix the problem. I had a fuel pump go out a week later, which we got changed. I also replaced my injector assembly last year.

My blazer was running great and starting up very quickly for about a month after the fuel pump was replaced. I had a lower intake gasket leak, and decided to replace it myself. IN order to get the gaskets replaced I had to remove the distributor. It is an older style with the vertical posts and caps.

After getting everything torqued back down (with a torque wrench) and getting the distributor lined up with my marks, I could not get the engine to start. It was crank but now start. I had spark for a while, but I had dry plugs. After several attempts to reset the timing we lost spark and still had dry plugs. Mechanic #1 said it was the coil pickup inside the distributor. We bought a whole new distributor, new cap and rotor. Then we started getting spark and flooded spark plugs, but still crank no start condition.