Lifting Tech This section is for suspension questions related to increasing the ride height of your vehicle.

Calling All Lifters

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 01:56 PM
kbaker308 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Calling All Lifters

Okay, so I'm only 18 but i am fortunate enough to have an extensive metal shop at home. I have several years experience in machining and welding. I recently purchased a 2000 Blazer 4x4, and now i want to lift it. I'm in the process of fabricating a grill guard/pre-runner bar and a roof rack, and i need to figure out my lift next. Basicly I can lift it, but since i am new to Trucks in general i don't really know what would be the best setup.

I use this truck as a daily driver so i want it to still be practical on street, but i do some off-roading too, and i would like some bigger tires. My question is how big should i go? I personally was thinking about a 3" Body lift, and a 3-4 suspension lift with a 2" differential drop, on a set of 30/9.5/15. But i am worried that it will be a little unstable in turns.

Also at what tire size should i start thinking about changing out my gear ratio?

Can i please get opinions, thoughts and advice before i go and lift.

thanks in advance

Old 01-10-2009, 05:29 PM
Byte Stryke is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Calling All Lifters

I Just went with a 2/2 lift and I was fine with 31s..
I hope to get the 2 inch body lift in this week...

I think a 3/3/4 and then 30s might be a bit much on the lift if you are worried about stability, you might stay in the 1-2 range on susp and 2 body you will still have ALLOT of room.

just my thoughts

check "Bytes Toy" in the sights and sounds.

Old 01-10-2009, 11:18 PM
BF Veteran
WolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura about