Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

2002 Blazer electrical problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2011, 07:59 AM
Beginning Member
skiextreme2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy 2002 Blazer electrical problems

2002 Blazer, four door, 4WD, auto, 6 cyl.

I have a 2002 Blazer that had no power the maker (license plate) lights or to brown wire of the trailer harness (running lights). When trying to find a way to jump from the tail lights to the marker lights, I must have shorted something because now I have no running lights at the drivers rear.

I do have signal and brake lights and everything else all around seems to be working.

Does anyone know anything about those areas - the left running lights, marker lights, running lights for trailer? Is there a fusible link in there somewhere?

I am not good with trying to chase wires unless I know where they go and how accessible they are and what might be in the system that my Haynes Repair manual does not show or mention.

Old 04-14-2011, 06:05 AM
Pewter2002 is on a distinguished road

It's early and my meds and caffeine haven't kicked in yet. (True, no sarcasm intended)! Are you talking about the vehicle lights or trailer lights being out? Most of these vehicles came with a factory harness for a trailer that Ts into your rear wiring just behind the rear bumper. Guessing you may have a bad ground back there. There is a fuse in the power distribution box under the hood for the rear trailer harness. The owner's manual, and the lid of the box, with designate the fuse. If you have trailer lights out, the most common cause is a bad ground on the trailer, or corrosion in the bulb sockets. The trailer lights will have a ground wire from the vehicle, but the trailer lights should also be solidly grounded to the trailer. Hope this helps.

Old 04-14-2011, 11:06 AM
Beginning Member