Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Have you put in your own alarm?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2009, 04:02 PM
Beginning Member
Hotfingers is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Have you put in your own alarm?

?I'm going to get a 2 way alarm with remote start and powerlock control. I have zero experience putting in alarms. I've done all of my own sound systems but I'm wondering if this is something I should try to undertake. Does anyone have any thoughts or advice?

Old 03-02-2009, 06:24 PM
Administrator
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation
Default RE: Have you put in your own alarm?

It is not bad. I have probably installed many hundreds of alarms. If you need help, ask away. I have wiring information, heck, if you call, I can probably walk you through the entire install.

Old 03-02-2009, 08:44 PM
Beginning Member

Thanks Hillbilly. I might have to take you up on that offer.

Old 03-02-2009, 09:07 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Pat helped me out a LOT when I installed my remote start. They are not all that bad. Especially when you get the proper bypass module!!

Old 03-28-2009, 09:36 AM
Beginning Member

So could anyone give me a breif summary of what goes in to installing a 2 way alarm with a remote start? About how many wires get connected, which wires I'll have to track down, which ones are tough to find, stuff like that. Thank you

Old 04-03-2009, 07:31 PM
Beginning Member