Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

overhead console from temp/dir. to trip

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2010, 05:44 PM
BF Veteran
warthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the roughwarthogdriver is a jewel in the rough
Default overhead console from temp/dir. to trip

ok,

bare with me...
***********disclaimer, i am no pro....follow at own risk********

ok first:
remove console unit from ceiling, there are (3) fillips screws holding it in place up there. (2) under main light lens and one in very front of console above rear view mirror.

second:
slowly drop console and disconnect the wire harnesses from the lights and the overhead unit. remove the smaller screws keeping the whole deal together and remove old unit. should slide out and the face plate is snapped on.

third:
clip the 6 pin head off the harness and leave enough material so that you are not short on the reconnection portion of this deal.

fourth:
now i am hoping you have clipped the harness from the scrapyard that you bought the "new and improved" unit from...if not stop here go back to the yard and beg for it or whatever you have to do to get it.

ok, lets continue on now that we all have our harnesses in hand.

these are the wires for both units (temp/dir.) and (trip..and all fancy stuff)

Compass/ Temp gauge (with trip computer) [has buttons labled as "Met/US" and "Mode" ]

(1)emerald green 7- RAP Fuse Supply Voltage
(2)black w/ white stripe 8- Ground
(3)dark green w/ white stripe 9-VSS (Vehicle Speed Signal)
(4)light green w/ black stripe 10- Ambient Air temp Sensor **
(5)grey 11- Instrument Panel Lamp Fuse Supply Voltage
(6)purple w/ white stripe 12- LED Dimming Signal
(7)(empty) 13- *empty*
(8)orange 14-Battery Positive Voltage
(9)yellow 15- Trip computer/nav class 2 serial data link