Paint, Body, & Interior Need advice on paint? Have a new interior mod idea? Having some trouble with a body kit? Discuss it here.

Repeat Offender Hinge Pin Bushing

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2013, 02:26 AM
Toby Hanson will become famous soon enough
Default Repeat Offender Hinge Pin Bushing

One of the first jobs I did last summer when I got my '98 Jimmy was to replace the hinge pins and bushings on the driver's door. The lower bushing for the upper hinge pin was broken. I have plenty of experience replacing door hinge pins and bushings on several GM vehicles, especially B-body sedans of the 80s.

Now that I've done a bunch of other stuff to the truck and I'm driving it regularly I've noticed that the bottom bushing on the upper hinge has broken in three places and two of the pieces of the bushing have fallen out. I'm going to replace the bushings and hinge pins for the door again. Before I do, I'd like to know if there is a better quality, stronger bushing available than what I used before. Previously I used the Dorman pin and bushing set from AutoZone. It didn't last all that long. Should I get a set from the dealer?

I suspect the hole where the bushing failed might be eccentric (out-of-round). If that's the case I'm going to fill the eccentric space with JB Weld to ensure a firm fit for the bushing.

Old 04-09-2013, 04:50 AM
rexazz2 will become famous soon enough

I suspect that the bushing cracked on the original install or not enough lube

IMO rain water washes the hinges
I keep a can of lube in the cup holder and spray them regularly

Old 03-03-2014, 07:42 AM
Starting Member
donald_archer is on a distinguished road
Default I was told

By parts source/Canadian tire here in Canada that these were the only ones available. I took a sample into a bushing/Bearing distributor here and was told that was the best I was going to do.

Glad to see that this has been an issue with others as well as myself

Good luck

Don

Old 03-03-2014, 07:47 AM
Administrator