Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Bravada Smart-Trak Transfer Cases

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 05:23 AM
oldsbravada2000 is on a distinguished road
Default Bravada Smart-Trak Transfer Cases

Ok guys I am NOT a certified mechanic I have learned all I know from working in my garage. This is all based from my experience with my Olds Bravada and information I have gathered over the years. If there is any info you find to be incorrect post the correct info and help me out lol.

The Oldsmobile Bravada's have the "Smart-Trak" system and have automatic transfer cases but they were changed through the years. Also the front axle and differential of the Bravada is different as well it is engaged full time there is no vacuum actuator attached to the diff (I know this to be on the 1st and 2nd gen, I'm not sure on the 3rd gen). A note to Bravi owners we DO NOT have 4WD these are ALL-WHEEL-DRIVE vehicles we do not have a 4LO option. Our transfer cases are similar to that of an AWD Audi, just because all 4 wheels can spin doesn't mean it's a 4wd.

All first gen Bravadas (1991 to 1994) were produced with Smart-Trak all-wheel drive. The Borg Warner 4472C (BW4472C) transfer case is used in these trucks. ALL WHEELS REMAIN ENGAGED FULL TIME. The viscous clutch of the BW4472C compensates for the varying speed of the front and rear axles, allowing the all-wheel drive to stay engaged at all times without damage, even on dry pavement. It transmits torque at a ratio of 35% front and 65% rear and directs power to the wheels with traction whenever slip is detected. This is a two-piece case, and it is chain-driven.