Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Squeaking Front End

Old 04-18-2008, 12:40 PM
Beginning Member
eknox327 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Squeaking Front End

Ok guys. I am hearing a squeaking that occurs when I go over bumps. Also when I push up and down on the truck I can get the squeak. However the squeak will lessen or go away when its raining. Lately they are more constant and growing worse since the winter.

I was told to use silicone grease and do the brushings that its probably the culprit. I am a not a mechanic however I am sure I can get under the truck and spray what needs to be sprayed. My question is Can someone post a picture and point them out to me or navigate me to a place where I can see what I am spraying.

By the way I have a 1998 Chevy 4wd 4 Door Blazer

Old 04-18-2008, 01:22 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Squeaking Front End

Good luck on this! I have the same issue and I have lubed and/or siliconed everything made of rubber or urethane under the truck without success.

Old 04-18-2008, 02:11 PM
Starting Member
garry2000blazer is an unknown quantity at this point

The most common front end squeek I'm aware of are the control arm bushings...usually the upper. I don't have a picture, but they are at the pivot point between the control arms and the frame.

Old 04-18-2008, 09:32 PM
cbash1979 is an unknown quantity at this point

i had that problem on my 98 jimmy a while back i replaced the sway bar links and the squeek went away