1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

90 S10 4.3 Catalytic converter problem (probably) second opinions please?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2008, 08:52 PM
dillonml is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 90 S10 4.3 Catalytic converter problem (probably) second opinions please?

I'm feeling pretty sure about what going on with my old S10, but figured I'd throw this issue out there for review just in case.

Starting 2 weeks ago my blazer started losing power on acceleration, especially under a load (acceleration or going up a hill) it has gotten worse daily at a fast pace.

My initial urge was to think it was an Air Flow Meter(mass air flow)problem. Yeah I know this vehicle doesn't have a MAF, but that's what I mentally associate those symptoms with because I'm a certified Nissan Tech and I'm so used to MAF's causing this exact problem EVERY DAY at work. Gotta remind myself I'm back on a Chevy product not a Nissan. Anyway, since I know these don't have an MAF I assumed it may be an IAC valve issue or something related to air intake control (similar to MAF...) and have been expecting to need to replace that soon...... I think I was wrong to assume that.

Yesterday the problem got ALOT worse. Misfiring big time, no acceleration, but I had no time to work on it.

Today... much worse again. Misfires were worse and had even less power. Can't even get up to the speed limit (had to try to drive to college today because I was late.. shouldn't have). When I tried to accelerate it bogged down even worse and the vehicle would hardly even crawl back to my house with a line of traffic behind me. It started eminating an extremely HOT metallic burning smell. At one point is sputtered even worse and the check engine light came on for a minute then went back off (probably just misfire codes, havent checked since its back off).